Awards and Grants

A number of awards are offered during the ICCBH conference to eligible authors, including:

  • New Investigator Awards
  • Best Poster
  • Best Oral
  • Charles Slemenda Award
  • Maria Luisa Bianchi Award

ICCBH New Investigator Awards

These awards are made by the Programme Organising Committee based on scores achieved during the abstract review process.

New Investigator Award eligibility form for download – ICCBH awards – confirmation of eligibility

In order to be considered for an award you:

  1. Must be first and presenting author.
  2. Must be in training or within 5 years of attaining PhD or MD or equivalent.

If you do not fit the above criteria, however, consider that you are eligible due to extenuating circumstances, please complete the box on the confirmation of eligibility form explaining why you feel you should be considered.

Best Oral and Best Poster Awards

These awards are chosen at the conference by the delegates (posters) and by a judging panel (orals). All accepted abstracts are considered for these awards.

The Charles Slemenda Award

The Charles Slemenda Award, established in 1999, is awarded biennially at the ICCBH conference in recognition of outstanding contributions to children’s bone research.  The recipient is selected by the ICCBH Steering Group and POC.

Previous recipients of the Charles Slemenda Award:

  • 1999  Francis Glorieux
  • 2002  John Pettifor
  • 2005  Jean-Philippe Bonjour
  • 2007  Ailsa Goulding
  • 2009  Michael Whyte
  • 2013  Maria Luisa Bianchi
  • 2015  Zulf Mughal
  • 2017  Frank Rauch
  • 2019  Nick Bishop
  • 2022 Outi Makitie

The Maria Luisa Bianchi Award

The Maria Luisa Bianchi Award was established in 2021 by ICCBH to honour the memory of Professor Maria-Luisa Bianchi for her role in in establishing and developing ICCBH and for her significant impact on the field of paediatric bone disease through her research and clinical work. The Award reflects on her commitment to the development of the field.

The goal of the award is to recognise the work of female researchers towards the beginning of their careers who have already made a significant contribution to the field of paediatric bone health and who are based in low- and middle-income countries.

The award will be made on the occasion of the International Conference on Children’s Bone Health, currently on a biennial basis and the recipient is selected by the ICCBH Steering Group.

The deadline for nominations for this award is 31 January 2024 (23:59 GMT) – more information about the eligibility and nomination process can be found HERE