Awards and Grants

Charles Slemenda Award

The Charles Slemenda Award was established in 1999 and is awarded biennially in recognition of outstanding contributions to children’s bone research.


2022  Outi Makitie

2019  Nick Bishop

2017  Frank Rauch

2015  Zulf Mughal

2013  Maria Luisa Bianchi

2009  Michael Whyte

2007  Ailsa Goulding

2005  Jean-Philippe Bonjour

2002  John Pettifor

1999  Francis Glorieux

Charles Slemenda Award
Winner 2022

Outi Mäkitie

Helsinki, Finland

The Maria Luisa Bianchi Award was established in 2021 by ICCBH to honour the memory of Professor Maria-Luisa Bianchi for her role in in establishing and developing ICCBH and for her significant impact on the field of paediatric bone disease through her research and clinical work. The Award reflects on her commitment to the development of the field.

The goal of the award is to recognise the work of female researchers towards the beginning of their careers who have already made a significant contribution to the field of paediatric bone health and who are based in low- and middle-income countries.

The award will be made on the occasion of the International Conference on Children’s Bone Health, currently on a biennial basis.

The deadline for nominations for this award is 31 January 2024 (23:59 GMT) – more information about the eligibility and nomination process can be found HERE

Maria Luisa Bianchi Award
Winner 2022

Aashima Dabas

Aashima Dabas

New Delhi, India